A suspended license can wreak havoc on your daily life. In the state of Minnesota, it is a crime to operate a motor vehicle when your license has been suspended. This can leave you unable to get to work, or other important functions. If you are facing driving after suspension charges in the state of Minnesota, you need an experienced defense attorney to help get your license back.
Understanding Driving After Suspension Charges
In Minnesota, driving after suspension (DAS) is considered a misdemeanor and sometimes referred to as driving without a valid license. A conviction of DAS can cost you up to $700 and lead to up to 90 days in prison. However, the penalties don’t end there. You may have to pay an additional fee to have your license reinstated. You also may face a longer period of suspension – or even a revocation or cancellation. Additionally, your auto insurance rates may skyrocket, leaving you unable to afford to drive at all.
Your license can be suspended for a variety of reasons. Common reasons for suspended licenses include DUI/DWI, reckless driving, and failure to pay traffic tickets. The duration of your suspended license can vary from a period of a month all the way up to a year or more. When your license is suspended, you may have to retake your full driving test, or pay a high fee, to get your license back. No matter what charges or penalties you are facing, a qualified attorney can help you win your case.
Driving After Suspension Lawyer
As soon as your license is suspended, or you are charged with driving after suspension, you need to contact an experienced attorney to help build your case. With the right defense lawyer on your side, you might face reduced charges or fines. You may even have your charges dropped completely. Additionally, you may get your license back sooner, or not have a suspension period at all.
Failure to get a driving after suspension lawyer may cost you a lot of money. It can also have a lasting impact on your life. A conviction of DAS may leave you unable to qualify for certain employment opportunities. It can also cause you to lose your license for an even longer period of time, leaving you unable to work or get around. Rather than risking your livelihood, you need a lawyer on your side.
Always A Free Consultation
When you are charged with driving after suspension, our attorneys are here to help. At the Brown Law Offices, P.A., we take our role seriously. A driving after suspension charge doesn’t have to limit your ability to get around and live your daily life. Call us today at 763-323-6555, or complete our free online consultation form.