Driving while intoxicated is a serious crime that can result in major consequences. Just how serious a DWI charge is will depend on any aggravating factors present at the time of the violation. No matter what charge you are facing, you will be facing harsh penalties. If you are up against a DWI with aggravating factors in Minnesota, you need the help of an experienced attorney.
Understanding DWI Aggravating Factors Charges
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is an “enhanceable” crime in the state of Minnesota. This means that certain aggravating factors can lead to more serious charges. The more aggravating factors present, the higher the degree of DWI.
According to Minnesota law, the aggravating factors for a DWI are:
- Having a blood alcohol content (BAC) at or above .16;
- Having a minor under the age of 16 present in a vehicle at the time of a DWI violation;
- Having prior impaired driving convictions; and
- Having a previous alcohol-related driver’s license suspension or revocation.
If none of these factors are present, the typical DWI charge is a fourth-degree misdemeanor. A conviction in this case can lead to fines, jail time, and a brief period of driver’s license suspension.
When any single aggravating factor is present, a DWI becomes a third-degree charge, which is a gross misdemeanor. If two or more aggravating factors are present, the DWI becomes a second-degree charge, also a gross misdemeanor. A conviction in either case can be punished by several thousand dollars in fines, up to a year in jail, and the loss of your license for 180 days.
A first-degree DWI occurs when you have had three DWI offenses within the past ten years. This is a felony crime, and a conviction can result in 7 years in prison, $14,000 in fines, and the loss of your license for up to four years.
DWI Aggravating Factors Defense Lawyer
No matter what level of DWI you are facing, it’s important to have a defense lawyer on your side. If you don’t enlist the help of a DWI lawyer, you may find yourself facing the maximum penalties. With a lawyer on your case, you may be able to keep your license and avoid paying steep fines, or serving jail time. When aggravating factors are involved, it becomes even more important to seek the help of a qualified lawyer.
Contact Us for a Free Consultation
If you are being charged with a DWI of any degree, you need the best attorneys on your side. At the Brown Law Offices, P.A., we have the experience and knowledge to help you avoid conviction, or minimize your DWI penalties. Our attorneys have helped many clients get a favorable results in their DWI case – even when several aggravating factors are present. Don’t let a DWI conviction take away your ability to live your life to the fullest. Call us today at 763-323-6555, or complete our online form for a free consultation.