Operating a motor vehicle after drinking alcohol can be dangerous. It can also have serious consequences. Even if your blood alcohol level is below the legal limit, you can potentially face criminal charges. If you are facing charges for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in Minnesota, you need an experienced attorney on your side.

Understanding Driving Under the Influence Charges

In the state of Minnesota, you don’t have to be legally “intoxicated” to face criminal driving charges. The state sets the legal limit at .08 blood alcohol content, and exceeding this level will typically result in a DWI charge. However, if your blood alcohol level is below .08, you might still face serious penalties.

Driving under the influence, or DUI, falls under Minnesota’s “impaired driving” laws. You do not have to be at any specific alcohol level in order to be charged with a DUI. In order to be convicted of a DUI, the prosecution simply has to show that your ability to drive was impaired by alcohol. This sometimes does not even require a blood alcohol test. If law enforcement knows you have been drinking, that might be all it takes to get a conviction – even if you weren’t drunk.

The penalties for a DUI are typically the same as for a DWI. If it is your first offense, a conviction can result in up to 90 days in jail, a $1,000 fine, and suspension of your license. The penalties are much harsher if there are any aggravating factors involved. Additionally, if it is a repeat offense, you may face larger fines and more jail time. You may even be required to use an ignition interlock device in order to operate your vehicle again in the future.

DUI charges can involve many different penalties depending upon the circumstances. No matter what factors are involved in your case, you need to contact a qualified lawyer in order to find out the best options for you.

Driving Under the Influence Defense Lawyer

In DUI cases, the courts often side with the prosecution because of the vagueness of the law. It’s important to contact a qualified defense lawyer as soon as you are aware of a DUI charge against you. Even the slightest delay can be the difference between a conviction with the maximum penalties and having your charges reduced or dropped. With the right defense attorney on your side, you may be able to prove that alcohol did not affect your ability to operate a vehicle. This can save you from jail time, fines, and license suspension.

Contact Us for a Free Consultation

If you are charged with driving under the influence, you need attorneys with real experience. At the Brown Law Offices, P.A., we have helped many clients get the best possible result. Our attorneys work hard to build your case, and never judge you – regardless of your guilt or innocence. Don’t let a driving under the influence conviction affect the rest of your life. Call us today at 763-323-6555, or complete our online form for a free consultation.