Operating a motor vehicle after you’ve been drinking can result in major consequences. Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious crime that carries harsh penalties. If you are facing charges related to driving while intoxicated in the state of Minnesota, you need an experienced attorney to fight at your side.
Understanding DWI Charges
Under Minnesota state law, it is illegal to operate a vehicle when you are intoxicated, or under the influence of alcohol. If you are of legal drinking age, Minnesota defines driving while intoxicated as operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher. When you are at or above this legal limit, you can face serious charges that can lead to jail time, fines, and the loss of your license.
If you are under the age of 21, Minnesota has a zero-tolerance law. This means you can be charged with a DWI even if there is only the slightest trace of alcohol in your system. These laws are designed to protect citizens and deter people from drinking and driving, especially at a young age.
The level of punishment you can receive if convicted of a DWI will vary depending upon the circumstances behind the incident. The state clearly defines aggravating factors such as extremely high BAC, or endangering the life of a minor. These factors can lead to harsher punishment and more serious charges.
A first-time DWI offense with no aggravating factors typically results in up to 90 days in jail, and fines of up to $1,000. If there are any aggravating factors involved, you can face a gross misdemeanor that will result in fines up to $3,000, and jail time up to a year. Additionally, you may be required to participate in rehabilitation programs or use in interlock ignition device before operating your vehicle again.
DWI Defense Lawyer
Being charged with driving while intoxicated is a serious matter that you can’t afford to take on by yourself. The moment you are aware of a possible DWI charge against you, you need to contact a qualified defense lawyer. Waiting to make this call can often make it more difficult to overcome the charges, and avoid a conviction – and the maximum penalties that come with it. With a lawyer on your side, you may not have to face heavy fines, a long jail sentence or license suspensions. Even if you haven’t been charged yet, it’s never too early to make the call.
Contact Us for a Free Consultation
When you are charged with driving while intoxicated, you need attorneys with experience, and a strong track record. At the Brown Law Offices, P.A., we have helped many clients get the best possible result in their DWI case. Don’t let a driving while intoxicated conviction have a negative impact on your life. Call us today at 763-323-6555, or complete our online form for a free consultation.