Many people don’t think twice before getting behind the wheel after a few drinks. However, a DWI can have serious consequences on the rest of your life. This is particular true if you are being charged with a first degree DWI. If you are facing a first degree DWI charge in the state of Minnesota, you need an attorney with experience battling the toughest cases.
Understanding First Degree DWI Charges
In the state of Minnesota, a first degree DWI charge is a felony. If convicted, you will face serious jail time and fines, along with the long-term suspension of your driving privileges.
In order to be charged with a first degree DWI, you must have prior convictions. Minnesota does not level charges of DWI in the first degree based on other aggravating factors (these factors apply to second and third degree charges). Specifically, you can be charged with a first degree DWI if:
- You have had three prior DWI convictions within the past ten years; or
- You have ever been convicted of a felony for charges related to impaired driving.
The maximum penalty for a first degree DWI conviction ranges up to 7 years in prison and $14,000 in fines. Additionally, you will lose your license, and have to go through rigorous steps to get it back.
Even after you are finished serving your 1st degree DWI sentence, you may find yourself struggling to get back on your feet. You may have to enroll in a costly treatment program in order to even get your license back. You also may find it difficult to find employment. Luckily, you don’t have to battle these charges on your own.
First Degree DWI Defense Lawyer
A first degree DWI can haunt you for the rest of your life. You may never be able to recover financially, or socially, from a conviction. However, with the help of an experienced defense lawyer, you may be able to get your charges reduced, or dropped. Your lawyer will gather the evidence necessary to build a strong case in your favor. With a lawyer on your side, you may avoid jail time and fines. You might also be able to get back behind the wheel sooner. No matter what the circumstances are behind your DWI, you will need help to overcome the charges.
Contact Us for a Free Consultation
If you are charged with first degree DWI, you need the best attorneys to help build your case. At the Brown Law Offices, P.A., our attorneys have a winning track record against DWI charges. Our attorneys are on your side, and can often help you get your charges reduced or even dropped. Don’t let a first-degree DWI conviction ruin your life. Call us today at 763-323-6555, or complete our online form for a free consultation.