People make mistakes. You may not realize you’ve had too much to drink, and decide to get behind the wheel of a motor vehicle. Unfortunately, this careless decision can have a major impact on your life. If you are facing charges for your first DWI in Minnesota, you need an experienced attorney on your side.
Understanding First Time DWI Charges
In the state of Minnesota, you can be charged with a DWI if you are caught driving with a blood alcohol level of .08 or above. Contrary to what you might think, it doesn’t take very many drinks to get to this level. Oftentimes, people get behind the wheel when they think they feel fine. This is especially true of first-time offenders. Thinking you were “okay to drive” isn’t an excuse for drunk driving in the court system.
As long as there are no aggravating factors present, a first time DWI charge is the lowest level of impaired driving charge you can face. Of course, that doesn’t mean it’s a crime that should be taken lightly. Even a first time DWI conviction can lead to jail time, fines, and the loss of your license. It can also have a drastic impact on your future.
The maximum penalty for a first time DWI charge, with no aggravating factors, is 90 days in jail, a $1,000 fine, and the suspension of your license for up to 180 days. You will find yourself facing additional charges if your blood alcohol content is excessively high, or if anyone is injured as a result of your DWI.
There are also situations where you can be charged with a DWI even if you didn’t have a BAC of .08 or above. Minnesota has a zero-tolerance policy for drivers under the age of twenty-one. That means even the smallest trace of alcohol can lead to a DWI charge. Even if you are above the legal drinking age, you can face impaired driving charges without testing at .08 or higher. If law enforcement has reasonable suspicion that you were driving under the influence, you will face charges.
First Time Defense Lawyer
Being charged with a DWI for the first time can be a very frightening experience. Luckily, you don’t have to face these charges by yourself. With an experienced defense lawyer on your side, you can overcome your first-time DWI charge. Your lawyer can often piece together a case that will result in a reduced sentence, or even dismissal of charges. If you choose not to consult with a lawyer, a more serious consequence maystem from your DWI charge. This can have a major impact on your life, and even lead to financial hardship.
Contact Us for a Free Consultation
If you are charged with a first-time DWI, you need an attorney you can trust – and who won’t judge you. At the Brown Law Offices, P.A., we have helped many clients overcome a DWI charge. Our attorneys will fight hard to get the best possible outcome for you. Don’t let a DWI conviction have a negative impact on your life. Call us today at 763-323-6555, or complete our online form for a free consultation.