Impaired driving can lead to major consequences. Being pulled over for drunk driving can result in jail time, fines, and a major impact on your future. If you have been charged with a fourth degree DWI in Minnesota, you need the help of an experienced attorney.
Understanding Fourth Degree DWI Charges
In the state of Minnesota, you can be charged with a DWI if you are caught driving with a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher. If it is your first impaired driving offense and there are no aggravating factors, you will typically face fourth degree DWI charges. A fourth degree DWI is classified as a misdemeanor in Minnesota, but the consequences are still very serious.
If you are convicted of a fourth degree DWI, you can face up to 90 days in jail, fines of $1,000, and the suspension of your driver’s license. Additionally, your insurance rates are likely to go up, and you put yourself at risk of much greater punishment if you ever drive under the influence again in the future.
You can also face additional penalties for a first-time DWI in the event of any of the following conditions:
- Your BAC is over .16; or
- There is a minor child under the age of 16 in the vehicle with you at the time of the offense.
When any of these aggravating factors are present, you will face greater charges – even if it is your first DWI offense.
Fourth Degree DWI Defense Lawyer
A fourth degree DWI is not something to take lightly. If you are thinking about handling the charges by yourself, you could end up facing the maximum penalties, and put your future at risk. With a qualified defense lawyer on your side, you may be able to have your charges reduced – or even dropped. Your lawyer will make sure that your DWI has a minimal impact on your life, so you can get back behind the wheel as soon as possible. Consulting with a lawyer may seem like an expensive endeavor upfront, but it can often save you a lot of money and headaches in the long term.
Contact Us for a Free Consultation
If you are charged with a fourth degree DWI, you need an attorney with a winning record on your side. At the Brown Law Offices, P.A., we have helped many clients overcome their impaired driving charges. Our attorneys work hard to build the case that will get the best result. Don’t let a fourth degree DWI have a major impact on your life. Call us today at 763-323-6555, or complete our online form for a free consultation.