Drinking and driving is a serious crime with serious consequences. This is especially true if there are any aggravating factors involved. If you are facing gross misdemeanor DWI charges in Minnesota, you need the help of an experienced attorney.
Understanding Gross Misdemeanor DWI Charges
According to Minnesota state law, you can be charged with a DWI if your blood alcohol content is above .08 while you are behind the wheel of a motor vehicle. A DWI can be charged as a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony. No matter what charges are leveled against you, the consequences are serious.
There are four degrees of DWI in Minnesota, and the exact charges you will face depend on whether or not any aggravating factors are present at the time of the offense. You will be charged with a gross misdemeanor if you violate one or more of Minnesota’s aggravating factors:
- Your blood alcohol content is .16 or higher at the time of the offense;
- You have any prior impaired driving convictions within the past ten years; or
- There are any minor children under the age of 16 in the vehicle with you at the time of the offense.
Gross misdemeanor DWI charges include second-degree and third-degree DWI. You will be charged with a third-degree DWI if one aggravating factor is present. If two or more aggravating factors apply, you will be charged with a second-degree DWI. Any gross misdemeanor DWI can include the following maximum penalties:
- 1 year in jail;
- $3,000 in fines; and
- Driver’s license suspension for up to 1 year.
In addition to these penalties, you may experience higher insurance premiums, or have to use an ignition locking device in order to drive again. A gross misdemeanor conviction also can lead to a felony if you are caught drinking and driving again (DWIs are “enhanceable” offenses).
Gross Misdemeanor DWI Defense Lawyer
A gross misdemeanor DWI conviction can have a lasting impact on your life. The moment you are aware of any charges against you, it’s important to contact a qualified DWI defense lawyer. Without a lawyer, you may find yourself facing the maximum penalties, including extensive jail time, hefty fines, and long-term license suspension. Additionally, a conviction can lead to higher insurance rates, difficulty finding a job, and a negative impact on your social and daily life.
Fortunately, you don’t have to face these charges alone. With the right lawyer, you can often defeat your gross misdemeanor DWI charges. Having your charges reduced, or even dropped, can save you time and money and give you more hope for your future. The sooner you get a lawyer involved, the better outcome you can expect.
Contact Us for a Free Consultation
If you are facing gross misdemeanor DWI charges in Minnesota, you need an experienced attorney on your side. The attorneys with the Brown Law Offices, P.A., have helped many clients get the best possible results in their impaired driving cases. Don’t let a gross misdemeanor DWI conviction ruin your life Call us today at 763-323-6555, or complete our online form for a free consultation.