Getting pulled over for drunk driving can have a major impact on your future. Even a misdemeanor offense is serious, and can lead to major consequences. If you are facing misdemeanor DWI charges in Minnesota, you need an experienced attorney to help build your case.
Understanding Misdemeanor DWI Charges
In the state of Minnesota, a first DWI offense is typically classified as a misdemeanor. According to state law, you can be charged with a DWI if your blood alcohol level is .08, or above, while you are behind the wheel of a motor vehicle. Additionally, if you are under the legal drinking age of 21, you can be charged with a DWI if there is any alcohol in your system.
A first-time DWI will be charged as a misdemeanor, provided there are no aggravating factors involved. In Minnesota, a first DWI offense will be elevated to a gross misdemeanor if either of the following conditions are present:
- Your blood alcohol level is excessively high, measuring at .16 or above; or
- There is a minor under the age of 16 in your vehicle at the time of the offense.
A misdemeanor DWI carries serious consequences that can include:
- 90 days in jail;
- $1,000 in fines; or
- Suspension of your license for 90 days.
You may also face additional consequences that include major increases in the cost of your auto insurance. A DWI conviction also stays on your criminal record and will have a major impact on your life if you are ever caught drunk driving again; a second DWI offense carries even higher fines and longer jail time.
Misdemeanor DWI Defense Lawyer
Many people mistakenly think a misdemeanor isn’t a serious charge. Any DWI charge is serious, and can have a long term impact on your life. With a qualified defense lawyer on your side, you may be able to avoid penalties or have your charges reduced or dropped. No matter what DWI charges you are facing, an experienced defense lawyer can make the difference that will allow you to get back to your normal life.
Contact Us for a Free Consultation
If you are up against a misdemeanor DWI charge, you need the best attorneys on your side. At the Brown Law Offices, P.A., our attorneys have helped many clients achieve a great result in impaired driving cases. Don’t let a misdemeanor DWI conviction affect your future. Call us today at 763-323-6555, or complete our online form for a free consultation.