Minnesota is very serious when it comes to battling against underage drinking and driving. According to the state’s “Not a Drop” law, even a trace of alcohol can lead to charges for a driver under the age of 21. If you or someone you know is facing charges for a “Not a Drop” violation in Minnesota, you need an experienced attorney on your side.
Understanding “Not a Drop” Violation Charges
In the state of Minnesota, the legal alcohol limit for most drivers is .08. However, the law changes when dealing with drivers under the legal drinking age of 21. Minnesota’s “Not a Drop” law waives the requirement for any legal limit of alcohol. A driver under the age of 21 can be arrested and charged if there is any suspicion at all that he or she has consumed alcohol.
The penalties you will face for an underage drinking and driving conviction depend on the circumstances of the offense, including:
- Your blood alcohol content at time of the offense; and
- Whether or not you have a prior conviction.
If your blood alcohol level is over .08, then you will be charged with a DWI. If it is a first-time offense, this will typically mean up to 90 days in jail, $1,000 in fines, and the suspension of your license for up to three months.
In the event that your blood alcohol level is below .08, you will still be charged with underage drinking and driving. This charge can lead to the suspension of your license and other potential consequences, including an increase in your insurance rates.
Keep in mind that you can still be charged even if your blood alcohol level is .00. If law enforcement has even the slightest suspicion that you’ve been drinking, then Minnesota’s “Not a Drop” law can be applied.
“Not a Drop” Violation Defense Lawyer
As soon as you are aware of any underage drinking and driving charges, it’s of utmost importance that you consult with a qualified defense lawyer. If you try to take on these charges by yourself, you may find yourself in serious trouble. You may have to pay significant fines, spend time in jail, and/or have your license suspended. Additionally, your entire future may be at risk. A “Not a Drop” conviction could potentially affect your future employment, or even where you go to college.
By having a lawyer on your side, you can avoid many of the potential consequences of a “Not a Drop” accusation. Oftentimes, your lawyer can help get these charges reduced or even dropped. Every charge related to underage drinking and driving must be taken seriously, and a defense lawyer working hard for you is the best way to get the result you want.
Contact Us for a Free Consultation
If you are charged with violating Minnesota’s “Not a Drop” law, you need the best attorneys to build your case. At the Brown Law Offices, P.A., we have helped many drivers overcome their drinking-and-driving-related charges. Our attorneys work hard to help you get the best possible result. Don’t let a “Not a Drop” conviction affect your future. Call us today at 763-323-6555, or complete our online form for a free consultation.